Fillols is located in the natural regional park of "Pyrénées Catalanes" which includes north side of the Canigou mountain, and counts more than 1000 vegetal and animal species. These natural richnesses justified the creation of specials protection areas, areas which includes Fillols.
Canigou mountain, a natural flora and wildlife rich site
The Canigou state forest, a 7 820 ha area, at an height between 2 150 and 2 784 m, is at Fillols gates. The natural heritage is there very rich. Natural habitat : forest, heath, grass. Wildlife : "isard, chat sauvage, loutre, chevreuil, cerf, sanglier, desman des Pyrénées, chauves-souris, lagopède alpin, perdrix grise, faucon pèlerin, aigle royal, gypaète barbu, grand tétra, chouette de Tengmalm, apollon". Flora : "pin à crochets, rhododendron, genêt purgatif, fétuque, azal".
Canigou mountain is a conservation special area for natural habitats, wildlife and wild-flora, site of the directive « habitat, wildlife, flora », which includes Fillols, (https://inpn.mnhn.fr/site/natura2000/FR9101475).
A special birds protection area
Fillols is also in "Zone de protection spéciale (ZNP)" defined by the directive « bird » for wild birds conservation, as it is mentioned into the national natural heritage inventory https://inpn.mnhn.fr/docs/natura2000/fsdpdf/FR9110076.pdf.
This area shelter a rich and various mountain wildlife, like raptors, passerines and gallinaceous. It is also regularely frequented by some couples of "Gypaètes barbus" and, in summer, by numerous tawny vultures (between 40 and 120) coming from spanish territory. Finally this special area is located on an important migration axis, patricularely for the percnoptere vulture, "milans, bondrée apivore" and storks.
The birds Canigou flyer is available on https://www.canigo-grandsite.fr/content/des-milieux-naturels-pr%C3%A9serv%C3%A9s
Saint-Félix church : named for the first time in 1094 in the Guillaume Ramon will, Cerdagne earl. The current church is from the end of XIIth century. It is an advanced roman style construction, regarding its nave, which vault draws a broken arch, as its hemicycle apse, entirely built with cut granite inside and outside, which presents for unique ornamentation a gear tooth frieze underligning the cornice, like in Corneilla de Conflent. On the other hand there is no arches, and the bell tower gets geminate bays on four sides of its unique floor. It has been built against the church lateral door. The metallic steeple is from XIXth century. The two bells are named : Augusta-Catherina and Joséfa-Maria. The Gerona Saint Félix with its grindstone statue, and the ones of Saint-Pierre and Saint-Maurice, from XVIIIth, are close from the main altar. In the chapel we can see a christ on the cross.
Saint-Pierre chapel : owned by the Cuxa abbey, it presents an half circular apse built with freestones. Up to XXth century, it was a « Fillols mining company » property, it is today a private property and unfortunately in ruins.
Veins have been operated since the highest antiquity. Discovery of roman objects and slags allows to date rich iron and manganese mining from the 2th century before christ. For a long time property of Saint-Michel de Cuxa abbey, the mine has been operated by and transfered to different mining companies (before to become in 1936 the « Fillols mining company »). Mining exploitation stopped in 1957. We can note that a 6 km aerial cable going to the Ria train station allowed, at the time, to send the ore to the processing sites and also that Fillols has the unique mine pit on the Canigou with more than 60 meters depth.